Chou Farci – Cabbage stuffed with Sausage, Chorizo and Mushrooms baked in White Wine (from Ripailles by Reynaud, 2008)

Cabbage is just nasty.  I feel pretty queasy when I think back to the overboiled cabbage at school.  Did you know that overboiling cabbage releases hydrogen sulphide, which not only causes that foul rotten egg fart smell, but it is in fact poisonous, corrosive, flammable and explosive?  So cabbage is even nastier than I thought; how could you even think of eating that?  HOW?  I’d at least want to get to the end of a meal without spontaneously combusting or exploding, and when I did, I’d like to think I wouldn’t instead die a slow and horrible death from poisoning and from my stomach being eaten from the inside.

But I’m greedy, so I decided to risk catastrophic death and make it anyway.

I could have eaten it just like this: cream, chorizo, shallot, some veg... delicious.

Pic 1: I could have eaten it just like this: cream, chorizo, shallot, some veg… delicious.

I’m so happy I did.  Cabbage is not good-looking; add that fact to how rubbish my presentation skills are, and this is not a pretty sight.  But please, you should persevere anyway, because it is out of this world tasty.  I would definitely put this dish on the menu at my last supper, which it will undoubtedly be after this has sent me into an exploding fireball of poisonous and corrosive gas.

This recipe is meant to be a starter for 6 people, but 1 won’t be enough; it’s too tasty, you’ll want another.  So I’ve made the recipe a main course for 3, just add rice or something, yeah?

Need this (for 3):

1 savoy or green cabbage / 600g sausages / 50g chorizo sausage or ring / 1 shallot / 2 cloves garlic / 100ml pouring or double cream / 1 egg / couple of handfuls of sliced mushrooms / 250ml white wine / rock salt & pepper / olive oil

Do this:

Boil water & add rock salt / blanche 6 leaves cabbage until soft / run each under cold water immediately / cut out the thicker part of the central ‘rib’ – the stalk which tastes yuk – but keeping each leaf in one piece / chop most of the rest of the cabbage /sauté in olive oil with chopped shallot & garlic / add diced chorizo / add mushroom slices / add cream & cook for a while (pic 1) / take sausages & remove the skin leaving the sausage mince / mash up in bowl / add egg & season – mix / mix in creamy cabbage & mushroom stuff / flatten out cabbage leaves underside up / dollop mixture & roll up / pack into gratin dish / pour over wine (pic 2) / 45 mins 180C

I know you're thinking this looks about as far from tasty as possible, but stay with me...

Pic 2: I know you’re thinking this looks about as far from tasty as possible, but stay with me…

OK, this still doesn't *look* tasty, but it tasted DIVINE.

Voilá.

OK, this still doesn’t *look* tasty, but it tasted DIVINE.  Try it!