Petits Pots de Happiness… AKA Crème Chocolat (from Ripailles by Reynaud, 2008)

Chocolate is the path to happiness.  “My therapist told me the way to achieve true inner peace is to finish what I start.  So far today, I have finished 2 bags of M&M’s and a chocolate cake.  I feel better already.”  Cheers to writer Dave Barry, for proving my point.

Often overlooked in favour of its fluffy mousse, oozy fondant and fudgey cake brothers and sisters, this baked crème chocolat is the dark horse of the family; a barely-set wobbly custard rich with dark chocolate.

Pots de creme chocolat 3

Wobbly (and not fluffy, oozy or fudgey).

Unfortunately though, I am an ass.  I still haven’t learned my lesson, and trusted Reynaud with a dessert recipe.  Albert Einstein’s definition of madness is “doing the same thing over and over again and expecting different results“.  So I’m not an ass, I am going doolally for thinking Reynaud’s recipe wouldn’t cock it up somehow.  I followed his method of pouring the heated milk and cream over the chocolate to melt it, and the resulting texture was a bit grainy and not fully… mixed? integrated?  Whatever.  But it meant I wasn’t going to get the smooth set I should be getting.  Melt your chocolate in a bowl over a boiling saucepan of water and then mix.

Or even better, try La Tartine Gourmande’s recipe, which looks fricking lovely.

Texture aside though, happiness ahoy!

Need This (for 6 individual ramekins)

300ml milk / 300ml pouring cream / 250 dark chocolate / 4 eggs / 90g caster sugar

Do This

Oven on 180C / break chocolate in pyrex bowl /place bowl over boiling pan of water until chocolate melted / separate eggs / whisk egg yolks with sugar to thick & pale (pic 1) / heat milk & cream in pan /stir hot milk & cream into chocolate / stir in egg mix / pour into ramekins / place ramekins in bain marie of roasting dish and water (pic 2) / oven 20 mins

Pots de creme chocolat 1

Pic 1: Eggs & sugar whisked pale.

Pots de creme chocolat 2

Pic 2: Ramekins in their bain marie waiting for the oven.

Pots de creme chocolat 4

Not quite how it should be. Curse you Reynaud for foiling my plans again.